Legendary EARTHWORM JIM Soundtrack is Getting a Gorgeous Vinyl Release

Earthworm Jim is undisputedly one of the iconic games of the 16-bit era, and what helped set it apart from other platformers of the time was its ahead-of-the-curve aesthetics and its killer tunes. Crafted by video game music legend Tommy Tallarico (who, by the way, is Steven Tyler’s cousin), the soundtracks for Earthworm Jim and Earthworm Jim 2 really weren’t like anything else of the time.

A compilation of the music from the two games, titled Earthworm Jim Anthology, was released in 2006, and now the album is getting a lovely vinyl re-release via Black Screen Records. It’s available for  pre-order now, and it looks like a real treat.

The four-sided 180g double vinyl is “pressed on ‘Groooovy!’ limited Earthworm Jim flesh colored and opaque Snott colored vinyl,” which will be encased in “heart boxer shorts” and “cow pattern” sleeves. The gatefold includes new and original artwork by Earthworm Jim artist Katherine Garner, liner notes by Tallarico, and unreleased and remixed tracks, all of which are also remastered.

The pre-order kicks off today (or on September 15 via “major online and retail outlets”), and the album actually releases on October 20. Check out the track list and listen to one of the classic tracks below.

Earthworm Jim Anthology track list

A1. “Invertebrate Retreat (Subterranean Remix)”
A2. “Tangerine”
A3. “Subterranean”
A4. “Falling”
A5. “Banjo Race”
A6. “Tropical Paradise”
A7. “Junkit”

B1. “Wormaphobic Disorder (Tangerine Remix)”
B2. “Submerged”
B3. “Snot A Problem”
B4. “Moonlight Sonata (3rd Movement)”
B5. “Glow Worm Jim (Subterranean Radio Edit Remix)”
B6. “Italian Medley”

C1. “What the Heck (The Oneups Remix)”
C2. “The Moo Tango”
C3. “Buttville”
C4. “Early Bird (Junkit Remix)”
C5. “Doobeedowapbop”
C6. “Psycrow”
C7. “Darkworm Rag”
C8. “80’s Annelid”
C9. “Lorenzen’s Dirt (Subterranean Remix)”

D1. “Dixieland Finale”
D2. “Continue to Rock”
D3. “Dad’s Tune”
D4. “The Big Top Polka”
D5. “Keyz To New Junk City (Junkit Remix)”
D6. “Party Time”
D7. “Intestinal Distress (Previously Unreleased)”
D8. “Earthworm Jim (Video Game Live Montage)”

Images: Black Screen Records

Top Stories
Trending Topics