Queen’s Greatest Hits Got Turned into 8-bit Video Game Music

There are many reasons Queen is universally recognized as having reached supreme levels of excellence: Freddie Mercury’s otherworldly vocal power and the fleshed-out and epic rock instrumentation are two of the most predominant. What this fan project does, though, is strip Queen’s legendary music of both of those qualities, and yet, That Gamer’s 8-bit cover of the band’s first Greatest Hits album still sounds as Queen-y as the Queen we love ( via BoingBoing).

In 1982, Queen released Hot Space, which is considered a wild departure of an album in that it incorporates a lot of electronic influences, or at least a lot more than they had previously been known for. 8-bit Queen could be what the band may have sounded like were they to have gone way further off the electronic deep end, and while that may not have been a smart move by the band, it sure is a lot of fun to explore as a fan project on YouTube.

This project shows the potential of how amazing it could have been if Queen had provided the score to an ’80s video game, as the 8-bit version of “Bohemian Rhapsody” could soundtrack an Undertale-styled cinematic, introductory cut scene, and staying with Undertale, “Another One Bites The Dust” could work great as a Sans song.

Listen to the project for yourself above, and find the tracklist below:

  1. “Bohemian Rhapsody” (at the start of the video)
  2. “Another One Bites The Dust” (starting at 5:31)
  3. “Killer Queen” (8:23)
  4. “Fat Bottomed Girls” (11:19)
  5. “Bicycle Race” (14:37)
  6. “You’re My Best Friend” (17:35)
  7. “Don’t Stop Me Now” (20:28)
  8. “Save Me” (24:00)
  9. “Crazy Little Thing Called Love” (27:46)
  10. “Somebody To Love” (30:32)
  11. “Now I’m Here” (35:27)
  12. “Good Old-Fashioned Lover Boy” (39:32)
  13. “Play The Game” (42:24)
  14. “Flash” (45:34)
  15. “Seven Seas Of Rhye” (48:11)
  16. “We Will Rock You” (50:49)
  17. “We Are The Champions” (52:50)

Featured image: Random8BitCovers

Top Stories
Trending Topics