Paul McCartney Announced His 17th Solo Album, EGYPT STATION

The Beatles were of course world-changingly popular, which makes it easy to forget they weren’t actually active as a band for that long: they released all twelve of their studio albums over an eight year stretch, from 1963 to 1970. This means  Paul McCartney has spent much more time making music outside of his iconic group. He’s released a plethora of albums since The Beatles called it a day, the most recent being a solo album called New in 2013. Now, he’s ready to release his 17th solo record with Egypt Station; it’s set to come out on September 7 via Capitol Records ( and is available for pre-order now).

The announcement was also accompanied by a pair of singles: “Come On To Me,” a classic McCartney upbeat pop song, and “I Don’t Know,” which is more of a mid-tempo, piano-driven ballad.

McCartney explained the strange album title:

“I liked the words ‘Egypt Station.’ It reminded me of the ‘album’ albums we used to make… Egypt Station starts off at the station on the first song and then each song is like a different station. So it gave us some idea to base all the songs around that. I think of it as a dream location that the music emanates from.”

There’s no tracklist yet, but the press release teases a few tracks: “Happy With You” is referred to as “an acoustic meditation on present day contentedness,” “People Want Peace” is “a timeless anthem that would fit on virtually any album of any McCartney era,” and “Despite Repeated Warnings” is “an epic multi-movement closer clocking in at seven minutes with a song suite structure hearkening back to the days of Paul’s previous combos.”

Are you excited for the new album? Which of the new singles do you prefer? Listen to them both above and let us know down in the comments!

Featured Image: Capitol Records

Stories that are music to our ears!

Top Stories
Trending Topics