DOCTOR WHO Reveals Season 1 Episode Titles, Brand New Trailer

What’s this? Another new trailer? The Disney+-era—aka, Russell T Davies v. 2—of Doctor Who has only barely gotten underway and they aren’t wasting any time getting us hyped. So 10 days after the first trailer for Doctor Who season one (yes, that’s what they’re calling it), we get another! It’s got a lot more fun to pour over than the first. We see some guest stars, some monsters, and loads of Ncuti Gatwa’s Doctor looking fabulous. But more exciting than the trailer is the full slate of episode titles for Gatwa’s season of Doctor Who. Each of the titles came with its own flavor card, plus we know who wrote and directed each of them. Eek!

Doctor Who Season One Shares Episode Titles and Mini-Teasers

Those are super cool and give us a really interesting idea of what the upcoming episodes could be about. But for an even better idea, here’s the full list of Doctor Who‘s season one episode titles and the creatives involved.

  • SPACE BABIES: Written by Russell T Davies, directed by Julie Anne Robinson
  • THE DEVIL’S CHORD: Written by Russell T Davies, directed by Ben Chessell
  • BOOM: Written by Steven Moffat, directed by Julie Anne Robinson
  • 73 YARDS: Written by Russell T Davies, directed by Dylan Holmes Williams
  • DOT AND BUBBLE: Written by Russell T Davies, directed by Dylan Holmes Williams
  • ROGUE: Written by Kate Herron and Briony Redman, directed by Ben Chessell
  • THE LEGEND OF RUBY SUNDAY: Written by Russell T Davies, directed by Jamie Donoughue
  • EMPIRE OF DEATH: Written by Russell T Davies, directed by Jamie Donoughue

Of the eight episodes, six come from Davies’ pen. He always did write a lot of the episodes in his original run, but it stands out quite a bit here with fewer episodes. Not to mention, he already wrote all four of the previous Disney+ episodes.

The two episodes he didn’t write have big guest writers involved! Another former showrunner, Steven Moffat, returns to write this Doctor Who season’s third episode, “Boom,” which looks like a space adventure of some sort. “Rogue,” the sixth episode, comes to us from the writing team of Kate Herron and Briony Redman. Herron, you might know, directed all of Loki season one and several episodes of Sex Education. This one, given the title card, appears to be the Doctor Who episode that will feature Jonathan Groff and the Regency time period.

The Doctor (Ncuti Gatwa) stands between the open TARDIS doors and looks directly at camera.

A few other things of note, via First, “Space Babies” and “The Devil’s Chord” will drop on the same day (on May 10th). The former features Bridgerton‘s Golda Rosheuvel, the latter with Jinkx Monsoon. All the episodes from there on will debut weekly. So, we’ll only have seven weeks of new Doctor Who rather than eight.

Doctor Who Releases New Trailer for Ncuti Gatwa’s Season

Oh, and I guess we ought to get to the second trailer.

We see snippets of everything here, but one thing that really stands out is it looks like we’ll get yet another Doctor Who musical number. Both “The Giggle” and “The Church on Ruby Road” had musical numbers; “The Devil’s Chord” takes place in the 1960s as the Doctor and Ruby try to meet The Beatles, and this looks like it’ll have another such scene. Fascinating stuff.

We’ll have to wait and see what other excitement is in store when Doctor Who season one premieres May 10 on Disney+.

Kyle Anderson is the Senior Editor for Nerdist. He hosts the weekly pop culture deep-dive podcast Laser Focus. You can find his film and TV reviews here. Follow him on Instagram and Letterboxd.

Top Stories
Trending Topics