close menu

Pixies Celebrate Classic Actor Jack Palance in New Song, “Talent”

Back in July, Pixies announced Head Carrier, the band’s second full-length since they “reunited” in 2004 (they didn’t actually release a new album until 2014’s Indie Cindy). Today, the indie rock luminaries shared “Talent,” a brand new track from the upcoming record. We think it’s killer.

In more ways than one, “Talent” is emblematic of the sonic grit that served Pixies so well in the last part of the 20th century. Caustic guitars. Black Francis’ biting sense of satire. And indeed, according to NME, Francis recently said that the new record is reminiscent of their 1989 tour de force, Doolittle, and that “it’s got a bit of early Pixies slosh in it.” The late Jack Palance, best known for his roles in Batman and City Slickers, also gets a shout-out at the beginning of the track.

“Talent” is the second song Pixies have released from Head Carrier, following last month’s “Um Chagga Lagga.” The upcoming record, will also apparently include a “thank you” song for Kim Deal written by new bassist Paz Lenchantin, who previously played with A Perfect Circle and Zwan. Based on the tracklist (below), it’s difficult to figure out which song that’s going to be.

Head Carrier arrives on September 30 and can be pre-ordered here. In the meantime, check out “Talent” (above) and let us know which song you think is going to be Kim Deal’s well-deserved thanks in the comments.

Head Carrier tracklist:
1. “Head Carrier”
2. “Classic Masher”
3. “Baal’s Back”
4. “Might As Well Be Gone”
5. “Oona”
6. “Talent”
7. “Tenement Song”
8. “Bel Esprit”
9. “All I Think About Now”
10. “Um Chagga Lagga”
11. “Plaster Of Paris”
12. “All The Saints”

Image: @PIXIES

ANNIHILATION's 'Shimmer' and Ending Explained

ANNIHILATION's 'Shimmer' and Ending Explained

Expect Permanent Deaths For AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR

Expect Permanent Deaths For AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR

Where in the Galaxy is Grand Admiral Thrawn?

Where in the Galaxy is Grand Admiral Thrawn?