close menu
Paul McCartney Announces Four-Disc Compilation Album

Paul McCartney Announces Four-Disc Compilation Album

Paul McCartney has popped up on our musical compasses a few times over the past couple months. Following his infamous collaboration with Kanye, the Beatle has scored Skype’s audio emoticons, memorialized the late George Martin as “the fifth Beatle,” and apparently he’s even joined the cast of Pirates and the Caribbean 5. If nothing else, McCartney has proven that he’s not afraid to embrace modernity. His latest project, though, will revisit the past.

Today the 73-year-old musician announced a compilation album of 67 tracks, spanning from 1970 to today (that’s post-Beatles for those counting at home).

“Me and my team came up with the idea of putting together a collection of my recordings with nothing else in mind other than having something fun to listen to,” McCartney said in a statement. (Here’s to hoping that record sales had nothing to do with it and Paul McCartney is truly an altruistic musical magnate.) “Maybe it’s to be enjoyed on a long car journey or an evening at home or at a party with friends?” he continued. “So we got our heads together and came up with these diverse playlists from various periods of my long and winding career.”

Maybe I’m amazed at the way he uses song puns, or maybe I’m just excited to jet through all of his silly love songs—either way I’m looking forward to a McCartney-guided road trip in the near future. The record arrives June 1 and will be available as an LP, CD, and digital download. Tracklist below:

1. Maybe I’m Amazed
2. Heart Of The Country
3. Jet
4. Warm And Beautiful
5. Listen To What The Man Said
6. Dear Boy
7.  Silly Love Songs
8. The Song We Were Singing
9. Uncle Albert / Admiral Halsey
10. Early Days
11. Big Barn Bed
12. Another Day
13. Flaming Pie
14. Jenny Wren
15. Too Many People
16. Let Me Roll It
17. New

1. Live and Let Die
2. English Tea
3. Mull of Kintyre
4. Save Us
5. My Love
6. Bip Bop
7. Let ‘Em In
8. Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five
9. Calico Skies
10. Hi, Hi, Hi
11. Waterfalls
12. Band on the Run
13. Appreciate
14. Sing The Changes
15. Arrow Through Me
16. Every Night
17. Junior’s Farm
18. Mrs Vandebilt

1. Say Say Say [2015 Remix]
2. My Valentine
3. Pipes of Peace
4. The World Tonight
5. Souvenir
6. Dance Tonight
7. Ebony and Ivory
8. Fine Line
9. Here Today
10. Press
11. Wanderlust
12. Winedark Open Sea
13. Beautiful Night
14. Girlfriend
15. Queenie Eye
16. We All Stand Together

1. Coming Up
2. Too Much Rain
3. Good Times Coming / Feel the Sun
4. Goodnight Tonight
5. Baby’s Request
6. With a Little Luck
7. Little Willow
8. Only Mama Knows
9. Don’t Let it Bring You Down
10. The Back Seat Of My Car
11. No More Lonely Nights
12. Great Day
13. Venus and Mars / Rock Show
14. Temporary Secretary
15. Hope For The Future
16. Junk


HT: Entertainment Weekly

IMAGE: Linda McCartney

Confused Snake Buries Itself in Sprinkles

Confused Snake Buries Itself in Sprinkles

Wall of Lava Lamps Helps Protect 10% of Internet Traffic

Wall of Lava Lamps Helps Protect 10% of Internet Traffic

Thor’s Hammer Has Been Reborn as a Set of Tools

Thor’s Hammer Has Been Reborn as a Set of Tools