close menu

Jack White Drops Dynamic New Acoustic Track, “Carolina Drama”

Just weeks removed from Third Man Records playing the first record in (almost) space, Jack White is back at it again with the White jams. Damn Jackie!

A few weeks ago, White announced a forthcoming acoustic double LP titled Jack White’s Acoustic Recordings, 1998 – 2016. He shared “City Lights,” a previously unreleased White Stripes song, in conjunction with the announcement, and today he gave us a second taste from the album, this time revisiting a track from one of his other great bands, The Raconteurs.

“Carolina Drama” originally appeared on Consolers of the Lonely, the Raconteurs’ second and final (so far) record. White’s acoustic version gives the song a southern flavor: Cheeky fiddle lines. Multiple guitar tenors. It’s dynamic as hell, mixing moments of honeyed laze with that earnest Jack White vocal pluck. And, just like the folk songs of the early 20th century, White’s tale is eerie and melodramatic, a testament to his unrivaled understanding of textural balance, emotional tension, and historical context.

Jack White’s Acoustic Recordings, 1998 – 2016 arrives on September 9 via Third Man Records/Columbia Records and it can be pre-ordered here. And, as Rolling Stone reports, White will make his debut solo acoustic TV appearance that same night on The Tonight Show. Check out the new track and let us know how you feel about it in the comments. Full tracklist below:

Jack White’s Acoustic Recordings, 1998 – 2016 tracklist:


1. “Sugar Never Tasted So Good”
2. “Apple Blossom” (Remixed)
3. “I’m Bound To Pack It Up” (Remixed)
4. “Hotel Yorba”
5. “We’re Going To Be Friends”
6. “You’ve Got Her In Your Pocket”
7. “Well It’s True That We Love One Another”
8. “Never Far Away”


9. “Forever For Her” (Is Over For Me)
10. “White Moon”
11. “As Ugly As I Seem”
12. “City Lights” (Previously Unreleased White Stripes Track)
13. “Honey, We Can’t Afford To Look This Cheap”
14. “Effect & Cause”


15. “Love Is The Truth” (Acoustic Mix)
16. “Top Yourself” (Bluegrass Version)
17. “Carolina Drama” (Acoustic Mix)
18. “Love Interruption”
19. “On And On And On”
20. “Machine Gun Silhouette” (Acoustic Mix)


21. “Blunderbuss”
22. “Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy” (Alternate Mix)
23. “I Guess I Should Go To Sleep” (Alternate Mix)
24. “Just One Drink” (Acoustic Mix)
25. “Entitlement”
26. “Want And Able”

Image: Kris Krüg

ANNIHILATION's 'Shimmer' and Ending Explained

ANNIHILATION's 'Shimmer' and Ending Explained

Meltdown Comics, an LA Landmark, to Close After 25 Years

Meltdown Comics, an LA Landmark, to Close After 25 Years

Who Is the Secret Cameo in DEADPOOL 2?

Who Is the Secret Cameo in DEADPOOL 2?