close menu
If You Love THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL, You’ll Want to Own This Book

If You Love THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL, You’ll Want to Own This Book

You won’t find a much bigger Wes Anderson fan than award-winning film critic* Matt Zoller Seitz, but don’t take my word for it. The man wrote a fantastic book back in 2003 that will delight anyone who adores Bottle Rocket (1996), Rushmore (1998), The Royal Tenenbaums (2001), The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou (2004), The Darjeeling Limited (2007), Fantastic Mr. Fox (2009), and Moonrise Kingdom (2012). But then Wes Anderson went ahead and made another movie, which makes Matt’s book just a little bit incomplete.

But no more! Check out the gallery for a sampling of images from The Wes Anderson Collection Chapter 8: The Grand Budapest Hotel, which is a beautiful hardcover tome that you’ll want to throw right onto your coffee table so as to impress your cineaste friends when they come over to watch the Oscars. (Let’s not forget that The Grand Budapest Hotel is up for nine Oscars this weekend, and I wouldn’t be surprised to see a snag a few prizes.)

Even the promotional video is cool:

THE WES ANDERSON COLLECTION CHAPTER 8: THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL from RogerEbert.com on Vimeo.

That video does a fine job of explaining (at least a little) why Matt Zoller Seitz (and me, and all the coolest movie geeks) keep coming back to Wes Anderson’s oddly askew yet always endearing universe. Plus it’s always great to read about a filmmaker’s body of work from someone who absolutely loves it, has the writing talent to explain why and who covers it with such devotion. Here’s to a new book for each film, and then maybe a Vol. II once Mr. Anderson hits 16 movies. Everybody wins.

(* Also a really nice guy and a great movie buff to follow on twitter.)

9 Actors Who Should Play Batman if Ben Affleck Leaves

9 Actors Who Should Play Batman if Ben Affleck Leaves

article
STAR WARS Sex Toys Are a Real Thing You Can Buy Right Now

STAR WARS Sex Toys Are a Real Thing You Can Buy Right Now

article
These Columbia STAR WARS Jackets Will Keep You Warmer Than a Tauntaun Will

These Columbia STAR WARS Jackets Will Keep You Warmer Than a Tauntaun Will

article