close menu

Childish Gambino Announces His Third Album, ‘Awaken, My Love!,’ Shares New Song

As you’ve probably noticed if you pay attention to pop culture news at all, Donald Glover has been a busy guy since the release of his last Childish Gambino album, Because The Internet, really picking up steam in just the past few months. First, his new FX series Atlanta has become a critical darling in its first season, then it was announced that he’s been cast to portray a young Lando Calrissian in an upcoming Star Wars movie. Now, he’s getting back into Gambino mode, as it’s been announced that he has another record on the way.

His third studio album, Awaken, My Love!, is set to come out on December 2 via Glassnote, and he shared the striking artwork, which features a woman with her eyes rolled back in her head wearing a bright headdress, on Wednesday:

He also shared the official audio for album opener “Me and Your Mama,” a striking six-minute song (that you can hear above) that’s part R&B and part rock and roll, like if Kid Cudi hadn’t gone so far off the fuzzed-out, psychedelic deep end on last year’s Speedin’ Bullet 2 Heaven.

Lastly, he also shared the tracklist for the 11-song effort:

  1. “Me and Your Mama”
  2. “Have Some Love”
  3. “Boogieman”
  4. “Zombies”
  5. “Riot”
  6. “Redbone”
  7. “California”
  8. “Terrified”
  9. “Baby Boy”
  10. “The Night Me and Your Mama Met”
  11. “Stand Tall”

Glover has struck nothing but gold lately, and led by the strong “Me and Your Mama,” our expectations for this one are high, so keep an eye out for it come December.

Featured image: Glassnote

ANNIHILATION's 'Shimmer' and Ending Explained

ANNIHILATION's 'Shimmer' and Ending Explained

Expect Permanent Deaths For AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR

Expect Permanent Deaths For AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR

Where in the Galaxy is Grand Admiral Thrawn?

Where in the Galaxy is Grand Admiral Thrawn?