Back in 1982, a lost little alien and an 8-year-old boy met on screen and became best friends. And the collective hearts of the world melted. When Steven Spielberg’s E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial hit theaters, a timeless classic was born, one we still love decades later. And a big part of that movie’s success was the incredible score by master composer John Williams.

And now, the folks at Mondo are releasing a special 40th-anniversary edition of Williams’ iconic score for E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial in a new vinyl edition. Much like his music for Star Wars and Indiana Jones, it’s hard to imagine the film without instantly thinking of Williams’ music. You can read details for this release, as well as see the first images, down below:

The front cover for the 40th Anniversary vinyl release for E.T. The Extra Terrestrial release from Mondo.

This new 40th Anniversary edition comes via a partnership with Geffen Records and Universal Pictures. It features all-new artwork by Dan McCarthy, showcasing E.T. arriving on Earth. It’s pressed on 180-gram vinyl in “Full Moon” and “Heartlight” colorways (also available on 180-gram black vinyl). This reissue is produced by Bruce Botnick & Mike Matessino. The E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial soundtrack on vinyl will be available for pre-order on Wednesday, August 31 at 12pm CT for $40 at


You can read the full tracklist below.


1. Main Title 1:14

2. Far From Home / E.T. Alone 6:57

3. The Encounter 1:49

4. Bait for E.T. 1:45

5. Meeting E.T. 2:08

6. E.T.’s New Home 1:28

7. The Beginning of a Friendship 2:53

8. Toys 3:13



1. I’m Keeping Him 2:20

2. E.T.’s Powers 2:44

3. The Closet 0:53

4. E.T. and Elliott Get Drunk 2:57

5. Frogs 2:21

6. The Kiss 0:49

7. Levitation 0:41

8. At Home 5:38

9. The Magic of Halloween 2:55



1. Sending The Signal 3:58

2. Searching for E.T. 4:18

3. Invading Elliott’s House 2:24

4. Stay With Me 2:24

5. Losing E.T. 2:04

6. E.T. Is Alive 4:22


1. The Rescue and Bike Chase 8:07

2. The Departure 7:07

3. End Credits 3:55