close menu

The Official STRANGER THINGS Soundtrack Gets Release Dates

Update 8/10/16: Netflix has announced the release dates for Stranger Things’ official soundtrack. S U R V I V E’s synth compositions will be released in two volumes, the first will be available digitally this Friday August 12, and the second will arrive August 19. Both volumes of the soundtrack will also be available on CD on September 16 and 23 respectively.

In a statement released by Netflix, S U R V I V E’s Michael Stein said, “We discussed having a classic tone and feel to the music for the show but being reserved enough that it wasn’t ’80s cheese… This was one of the qualities that drew them to our music in the first place. Having a familiarity with classic synths worked, but with an overall forward thinking approach.”

Check out the tracklist for the first volume of the soundtrack below.

Stranger Things, Vol 1 (A Netflix Original Series Soundtrack):

01 Stranger Things
02 Kids
03 Nancy and Barb
04 This Isn’t You
05 Lay-Z-Boy
06 Friendship
07 Eleven
08 A Kiss
09 Castle Beyers
10 Hawkins
11 The Upside Down
12 After Sarah
13 One Blink For Yes
14 Photos in the Woods
15 Fresh Blood
16 Lamps
17 Hallucinations
18 Hanging Lights
19 Biking to School
20 Are You Sure?
21 Agents
22 Papa
23 Cops Are Good at Finding
24 No Weapons
25 Walking Through the Nether
26 She’ll Kill You
27 Run Away
28 No Autopsy
29 Dispatch
30 Joyce and Lonnie Fighting
31 Lights Out
32 Hazmat Suits
33 Theoretically
34 You Can Talk to Me
35 What Else Is There to Do?
36 Hawkins Lab

If you’ve watched the Netflix series Strangers Things (and if you haven’t, you really need to get on that), then one of the many elements that caught your attention was no doubt the show’s amazing synth score from Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein, two members of Austin-based band S U R V I V E. The score meticulously recreated the ’80s synth score style from John Carpenter’s films, and David Cronenberg’s Videodrome, among several others from the era.

Ever since the show dropped on July 15th, people have been asking when an official soundtrack was coming, and now, according to Pitchfork, we’ve learned that the series has just announced the release of the original soundtrack, via a Facebook post. So far, there isn’t an official release date for the soundtrack, with the Facebook post only saying it’s “coming soon,” but at least now we know for sure it’s on its way. (Now how about an official second season renewal on Stranger Things as your next Facebook post?? Just putting it out there).

The show’s creator’s the Duffer Brothers used some tracks from S U R V I V E as the music to an early pitch trailer they made for the series, and then when it came time to score the actual show, they gave the group a call. After a tryout period, they gave them the job of scoring the whole series itself. As for how the Duffer Brothers discovered the little-known Austin based group, Kyle Dixon told the L.A. Times recently “the answer to that is kind of a mystery. I’m not sure how they found us and they are not really sure how they found us either.”

Of course, the soundtrack also has a metric ton of ’80s pop hits as well, like Toto’s “Africa”,  Foreigner’s “Waiting for a Girl Like You”,  The Bangles’ “Hazy Shade of Winter”, Corey Hart’s “Sunglasses at Night”, and most notably The Clash’s “Should I Stay Or Should I Go”, among several others, enough to fill a seperate soundtrack of its own. In the meantime, you can listen to an extended version of the show’s opening them music in the video above.

Are you as stoked as we are for the release of a Stranger Things soundtrack? Let us know your thoughts down below in the comments.

Image: Netflix

A Guide to Stephen King's Lovecraftian Gods

A Guide to Stephen King's Lovecraftian Gods

The Best Reaction to THE LAST JEDI Trailer Came from Kylo Ren

The Best Reaction to THE LAST JEDI Trailer Came from Kylo Ren

DEADPOOL 2 Wrap Photos Reveal Best GOLDEN GIRLS Easter Egg

DEADPOOL 2 Wrap Photos Reveal Best GOLDEN GIRLS Easter Egg