close menu
James Gunn Announces Track List for GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY Soundtrack (Star-Lord’s Mix Tape)

James Gunn Announces Track List for GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY Soundtrack (Star-Lord’s Mix Tape)

Remember when you first saw the Guardians of the Galaxy trailer and heard “Hooked on a Feeling”? Remember how you really WERE hooked on a feeling? Now imagine that feeling times twelve, because that’s the number of feel-good tunes on the Guardians of the Galaxy soundtrack, better know as Star-Lord Peter Quill’s “Awesome Mix Vol. 1.” Director James Gunn has released the full track list on his Facebook page, and it’s packed with enough classic pop and rock to put joy (and an earworm) in every filmgoer on the planet. And get a load of the soundtrack cover…

Guardians soundtrack

“Woo hoo! So happy they had the balls to go with this simple design,” says the director, pointing out that it can be pre-ordered now on Amazon. Regarding the music, Gunn adds, “NOTE: this is not the entirety of the Mixed Tape that Peter Quill listens to, the one that I gave to Chris Pratt that he listened to endlessly before the movie started. That is a longer list, that includes these songs, among others. I’ll release that full list closer to the release of the film.”

Just look at the list of tunes the soundtrack contains, and try not to imagine Pratt and co. blowin’ stuff up and crackin’ wise to ‘em…

1. Blue Swede – Hooked on a Feeling
2. Raspberries – Go All the Way
3. Norman Greenbaum – Spirit in the Sky
4. David Bowie – Moonage Daydream
5. Elvin Bishop – Fooled Around and Fell in Love
6. 10Cc – I’m Not in Love
7. Jackson 5 – I Want You Back
8. Redbone – Come and Get Your Love
9. The Runaways – Cherry Bomb
10. Rupert Holmes – Escape (The Pina Colada Song)
11. The Five Stairsteps – O-O-H Child
12. Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell – Ain’t No Mountain High Enough